Lessons are the pages that learners see when working through a course.

Name and save

When creating lessons using the Course Builder, save the course before editing the lessons. Then hover over the lesson and click “Edit” to open the lesson.

You can also find all your lessons by going to “Lessons” on the left-hand menu.

Adding lesson content

You can add content here just as you did when creating a course. The text editor shows the material nearly exactly as learners would see it.

Try to make sure lessons are not “walls of text”. That’s not a good learning experience. Use short chunks of text, headings, images, videos and audio to make the material more digestible for the learner.

There is a separate cheat sheet for adding special formatting to content in courses, lessons, topics and activities. See the cheat sheet.

Update / Publish and view

After adding your content, click the blue “Update” button. A confirmation will appear; always click “View” (in a new tab) to see the lesson as a learner would see it. This helps you spot any errors.

Delete a lesson

Sometimes lessons become redundant, especially when you’re still in the process of building a course. Use the red “Move to Trash” button to delete a lesson.

Lessons remain in the “Trash” folder for a while, so you can recover them later if you change your mind. (Lessons > Trash > Restore)